News

Courses WS 2017/18

Workshop "The Seriality of Risk in American Popular Culture"

2 pm - 6 pm, RW - S 61 

Poster_Workshop_2017_final_2pm

New Courses SS 2017

 

Summer 2017
Compact Seminar Gender Studies:
"Medienanalyse: Intersektionale Comicanalyse"

 Poster Gender-Lehrauftrag Intersectionale Comicanalyse

 

New Publication

"With a Barbarous Din: Race and Ethnic Encounter in Mid-Nineteenth-Century American Literature"

Cortiel_Barbarous Din

 

Office Hours

Make an appointment online!

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. Jeanne Cortiel

Room 1.12, GW I

E-Mail: jeanne.cortiel@uni-bayreuth.de

Phone: + 49 (0)921/55-3560

 

BIFAS-logo

 

Usage Rights

If not declared otherwise, all contents of this website are subject to a creative commons license. This also applies to our pictures, but not to pictures we cite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The professorship of North American Studies is part of the English and American Studies department at the University of Bayreuth. Our main foci in research and teaching are the intersections between American popular culture and natural science discourses as well as the development of ethnicity in American literature since the 19th century. Within these core research areas we investigate the discontinuities and processes of transformation within American culture, originating, for example, in cultural contact zones.

Captain America

In both teaching and research we collaborate with the chair for Intercultural Anglophone Studies (Prof. Sylvia Mayer) to offer our students a wide spectrum of courses and to establish a rewarding research environment for young academics. Thus, our work and research reaches across departmental boundaries, facilitated by the recently founded Bayreuth Institute of American Studies (BIFAS).

Furthermore, you will find more information on our current research projects. Additionally, you can find helpful information for your studies (including examination regulations and reading lists) or browse our current course catalogue.

 

 

 

 

Source of image (above): Kevin Patterson, "Captain American walks through crowd" (26.07.2010) <http://www.flickr.com/photos/stationaryhobo/4836115329/>

Universität Bayreuth -

Aktuelles

15. Juli 2016
Workshop mit Postersession

"Blood in the Gutter: Uncertainty and Speculation in Contemporary American Comics"

Poster_Workshop_2016

 

Neue Publikation

"With a Barbarous Din: Race and Ethnic Encounter in Mid-Nineteenth-Century American Literature"

Cortiel_Barbarous Din

 

Sprechstunde

Nur mit Online-Anmeldung!

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Jeanne Cortiel

Raum: 1.12, GW I

E-Mail: jeanne.cortiel@uni-bayreuth.de

Tel.: +49 (0)921/55-3560

 

BIFAS-logo

 

Nutzungsrechte

Sofern nicht anders angegeben, stehen alle Inhalte dieser Seite unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz. Dies gilt auch für unsere Bilder, aber nicht für die Bilder, die wir zitieren.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Die Professur für Amerikanistik ist Teil der Fachgruppe Anglistik. Wir setzen uns in Forschung und Lehre schwerpunktmäßig mit der amerikanischen Populärkultur und deren Überschneidung mit naturwissenschaftlichen Diskursen sowie mit der Entwicklung von Ethnizität in der amerikanischen Literatur seit dem 19. Jahrhundert auseinander. In beiden Schwerpunkten geht es vor allem um Transformationsprozesse und Brüche in der amerikanischen Kultur, die häufig aus dem Kontakt mit anderen Kulturen entstehen.

Captain America

Wir arbeiten in Lehre und Forschung eng mit dem Lehrstuhl für Anglophone Literaturen und Kulturen (Prof. Sylvia Mayer) zusammen, um ein umfassendes amerikanistisches Lehrangebot zu ermöglichen und den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs zielgerichtet zu fördern. In der Forschung kooperieren wir fakultätenübergreifend mit anderen Disziplinen im Rahmen des Bayreuther Instituts für Amerikastudien (BIFAS).

Näheres zu unseren laufenden Forschungsprojekten und geplanten Konferenzen finden Sie auf den Seiten zur Forschung. Außerdem finden Sie hier Information zu unserer Lehrphilosophie und aktuellen Lehrveranstaltungen, sowie allgemeine Hinweise zum Studium im Bereich der Amerikanistik, einschließlich Prüfungen und Abschlussarbeiten.

 

 

 

Quelle Bild (oben): Kevin Patterson, "Captain American walks through crowd" (26.07.2010) <http://www.flickr.com/photos/stationaryhobo/4836115329/>

Universität Bayreuth -